Home 6 Major Decision Points on MPF Investment Types of MPF Funds 5 Thing to look out for in Your Retirement Investment Useful Tools & Resources
Choosing FundChoosing SchemeAdditional ContributionsChanging JobFund Choices AdjustmentAfter Retirement Overview of Fund Types Planning for Retirement at Different Stages of Your LifeEstimating Your Retirement NeedsAccumulating Wealth for Your RetirementReviewing Your Retirement Investment PortfolioWithdrawing Your Retirement Savings Tools and Documents on MPF investmentTools on Retirement ManagementMultimedia ZoneFeature ArticlesPublications And LeafletsSocial Media PlatformsGlossaryUseful Link

What should I Do with My MPF Accrued Benefits when I Retire?

Three Ways to Manage Your MPF Benefits when You Retire

Under the MPF System, once you reach the age of 65, you can choose any one of the following ways to manage your MPF benefits (including the MPF benefits generated from the mandatory contributions and the tax deductible voluntary contributions):

  • 1
    Withdraw your MPF benefits by instalments
  • 2
    Withdraw all your MPF benefits in a lump sum
  • 3
    Retain all the MPF benefits in your account for continuous investment
Image elderly couple

Learn More Trustees are required to process free of charge* withdrawals for the first four instalments of a scheme member in a year. If you intend to withdraw your MPF benefits by instalments, you should contact your trustee to find out more about the withdrawal arrangements before making an application.

*Other than necessary transaction costs which are incurred, or reasonably likely to be incurred, by the trustee in selling or purchasing investments in order to give effect to the payment; and payable to a party other than that trustee.

Factors to Consider and Points to Note

Please pay attention to the following points before making a decision on how to manage your MPF benefits:

Consider your personal needs

Think about the amount of assets you may have and the amount you will need when you retire. For instance, ask yourself whether you need money immediately to cover your daily expenses or for other purposes. MPF is only part of your retirement assets, so you should plan for your retirement well by considering your MPF together with any other retirement savings you may have.

Learn more about the operation of MPF funds

MPF invests in funds. Fund prices change due to market fluctuations, and this can affect the value of your MPF assets. After you have filed a withdrawal application, your trustee will sell the fund units in your account at the current market price and pay you the relevant amount. However, the price obtained when the trustee sells your funds may be different from the price prevailing when you submit your withdrawal application.

Find out the withdrawal rules of voluntary contributions

Withdrawal of MPF benefits derived from voluntary contributions is subject to the governing rules of the scheme concerned. If your account includes voluntary contributions, you should check the relevant MPF Scheme Brochure, or contact your trustee for the withdrawal rules of voluntary contributions.

Be aware of the conditions associated with a Guaranteed Fund

If you have invested in a Guaranteed Fund, you should check whether withdrawal in a lump sum or by instalments will result in the failure to fulfil certain qualifying conditions, such as the minimum investment period. This could make you ineligible for the guaranteed returns. Please contact your trustee for details.

Review your investment portfolio

Remember that any MPF benefits you do not withdraw will be retained in the account for continuous investment. You should therefore regularly review your investment portfolio, and consider whether you need to make any adjustment.
Image
Learn More Regardless of whether you choose to withdraw your MPF benefits by instalments or retain them all in your account, any benefits you do not withdraw will continue to be invested in your chosen fund(s). The values of these assets may change due to market fluctuations, and you should be aware of the investment risks involved. In addition, your account will, as usual, be subject to management fees and other charges by the trustee based on its total asset value.

Early Withdrawal of MPF

Under the law, there are specific circumstances where accrued benefits may be withdrawn before you reach age 65. They are:

  • Early retirement
  • Permanent departure from Hong Kong
  • Total incapacity
  • Terminal illness
  • Small balance
  • Death

Click to learn more
×

主頁 6大強積金投資決策點 強積金基金種類 5大退休策劃 實用工具及資源
挑選基金挑選計劃額外供款轉職處理調整組合退休處理 基金種類一覧 按人生階段策劃退休評估退休生活需要為退休累積財富檢討退休投資組合提取退休儲備 強積金投資資訊及工具退休策劃工具多媒體專區專題文章刊物及單張社交媒體平台詞彙表常用連結

退休時,如何處理強積金累算權益?

退休時處理強積金的三個方法

在強積金制度下,當你年滿65歲,你可選擇以下其中一個方法處理你的強積金(包括強制性供款及可扣稅自願性供款產生的強積金):

  • 1
    分期提取:分多次提取帳戶内的強積金
  • 2
    一筆過提取:一次過提取帳戶内全部強積金
  • 3
    全數保留:把全部強積金保留在帳戶內繼續投資
圖片年老夫婦

知多一點點 受託人須免費處理你每年首四期的提取*。如你想分期提取強積金,應於提出申請前向你的受託人了解有關安排的詳情。

*除必需交易費用外,即受託人為了支付強積金予計劃成員而進行買賣投資所招致的、或合理地相當可能如此招致的;及須向某方(該受託人除外)支付的款額。

考慮因素及注意事項

在決定選擇哪一個方法處理你的強積金前,你必須先留意以下事項:

考慮個人需要

你必須考慮退休後的個人資產及生活需要,例如是否急需現金作生活費或其他用途。強積金是你退休資產的一部分,你應一併考慮你的其他退休儲備,以作出周全的退休安排。

理解基金運作

強積金投資於基金,而基金單位的價格會隨市場變化,因此你的強積金資產值取決於當時的基金單位價格。當你申請提取強積金,受託人便會按市場價格,賣出你帳戶内的基金單位,然後向你支付相關金額。受託人賣出基金單位的價格,可能與你提交申請表格當天所知的價格不同。

了解自願性供款的提取規則

提取自願性供款須受所屬計劃的管限規則所規限。假如你的帳戶內有自願性供款,你應查閱相關的強積金計劃說明書或向受託人查詢如何提取自願性供款。

注意保證基金的條款

假如你的投資組合包含保證基金,須留意會否因為提取全部或部分強積金而未能符合某些保證條款,例如投資年期未達「鎖定期」,而不能得到有關的保證回報。請聯絡你的受託人了解有關詳情。

適時檢討投資組合

保留在帳戶内的強積金會繼續投資,你應定期檢討你的基金組合,適時考慮是否需要作出調整。
圖片
知多一點點 不論你選擇分期提取強積金,或把強積金全數保留在帳戶內,未被提取的強積金會繼續投資於你所選擇的基金,資產值亦將隨著市場波動而變化,你須留意相關的投資風險。此外,受託人亦會如常按你帳戶內的強積金資產總值收取管理費等相關費用。

提早提取累算權益

根據法例規定,在以下特定情況下,你可在65歲前提早提取累算權益:

  • 提早退休
  • 永久性地離開香港
  • 完全喪失行為能力
  • 罹患末期疾病
  • 小額結餘
  • 死亡

了解更多
×